In Need of Care: Hearing in abused child case postponed again
The preliminary hearing for the parents of a 14-year-old Sedgwick County girl diagnosed by a doctor as a victim of child torture has been continued a fourth time.
Child abuse is a real and ever-present issue in our country, the state of Kansas and, more specifically, our local community. This site is designed to be a single-point resource for the community and a place for people to gain a better understanding of child abuse and to better recognize it and combat it.
The Kansas Newborn Infant Protection Act (K.S.A. 38-2282)
This law allows a parent, or other person having lawful custody, to surrender an infant to any employee who is on duty at a fire station, city or county health department, or medical care facility. The infant must be 45 days or younger. A parent can surrender an infant without legal repercussions if there is no abuse or neglect.